Tuesday

Quote:

Better to get up late and be wide awake than to get up early and be asleep all day.images

The Caisson.

A bit nostalgic today. I was remembering a day early in my apprenticeship . December 15 1954 at 3.30 pm. All the apprentices were assembled in the college hall  singing Christmas Carols. When the Principal walked in and stopped the service. He said that we were all to  collect our immediate things and exit the yard immediately. That we were forbidden to return to our respective workshops. We didn’t know at that time of a serious accident. When we next returned to work we discovered that a disaster had happened. The Caisson in no 3 dry dock had failed. The dock had filled  instantly with the in rushing river. Lifting a submarine off its blocks and hurling it across the river. The death toll was 4.  The admiralty decided that a re think on  caisson design was needed. So a program was designed  to re place all the caissons. My 3rd year apprenticeship job as a shipwright was to join this team on new construction. I reported to my new gang and I was appointed to my new skipper. A Welshman  named Bill. Known as taffy .  I thought this would be a good opportunity.

But it was not to be. Usually we were moved around on a 3 monthly basis in order to gain varied experience. But my  first 3 months with Bill were not very nice. In order to  start  building a new caisson involved daily trips to the plate wharf in the freezing cold to mark out plates ready  to go to the machine shop for cutting and bending. Most of the plate was 40lb plate. Thats 1 inch thick so it was too heavy to be manhandled. During  this first 3 months with Bill I hardly got a word out of him except to snap commands at me like I was something off his shoes. I looked forward to my next move. When it came I found I was not  moving on. I was to stay with Bill for  another 3 months. I requested an interview with the senior inspector of Construction Mr Beard. I asked him for my normal  move. He blew his top. He said You are on a New Construction Program. A chance men would give their right arm  for. So get back to it. He refused to listen to my requests. I asked for a new skipper but  he said No.

This caisson was being built inside Number 7 Slip. Which was a giant building open at both ends the wind blew through end to end freezing cold. No heating at all  and in winter, not very nice. I actually ended up a whole year on  new construction. The Senior  Inspector   later told me I was privileged and one day I would thank him. So looking at this picture today reminded me of those days so long ago now. I never felt the need to thank him.No 7 Slip

imagesInside Number 7 slip.

Actual Account from the Dockyard Diver

So much for nostalga.

I was asked to do a yahoo  satisfaction survey for my recent enquiry . So I told them. Not sure they will like it.

I am off shortly  for my needles session.

***

My last needles session over , I will miss Garry . Its upto 6 today which is a lot warmer that recent 1 or 2 degrees.

maves blog

IATP Awards

Published by Raymond

I paint when I get time. Write poetry when the mood takes me. Always been interested in Photography. Having just bought a new camera I thought Id start again with a decent one.This is an oportunity to put my work on display.

Leave a comment

Mavis Nye

Asbestos Awareness

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.