Friday

rideI have watched the News about the opening of  Margates Dreamland. Oh what memories that place holds for me.

My Aunt and Uncle had a guesthouse in Margate. It was about 10 mins or less from Dreamland. I spent a couple of holidays there as a teenager. Later when  I met Mavis I had booked a holiday there again and she came down on a coach to  see me. I remember that week so  vividly. I was happy to be on Holliday but  gutted at being away from her for a week. It was unbearable.

I spent  most of my week in Dreamland. I used to go on the stalls that had decent prizes. I think it was unique that 2 of the stalls gave me a prize to get rid of me. It was an extremely lucky time for me. I would buy a ticket on  one stall  where the light stops. The lights would whiz round a big  board and slow down  and stop. The stall holder would call out the winning number and it was me. Time and time again I would win . He leaned over and said If I give you a free prize will you go away and come back later. These people will think its fixed. So I would move onto another one . This one had records on a disc that would spin. When it stopped it played a record. He would call out the name of the record. It was me ,so another prize likewise time and time again I would win. He also told me to go somewhere else. I said I am just lucky. He also gave me a prize to  go away. During that week I one most of my Bottom Draw. I had cutlery sets   Cups and saucers. Pots and Pans bed Linen, I had so much that I had to leave a lot at my Uncles when I came home and I had to go  back again to collect it.

This period of luck  extended to raffles and sweep stakes  work and in my club.  It got so bad people  would when asked to buy tickets would ask has He (me ) bought any tickets. If he has we don’t want any because he will win  them all. This streak lasted  up untill I was called up for  the Army. At that point  my luck changed. Since then  back in the 1960s I’ve hardly ever won a thing.

I noticed on the news today   that an entry charge of £17.50 per adult is made. Back  in my day it was free entry. How times change. At that price I think Dreamland will remain a memory.

Leave a Reply

