Sunday

Some times one has to sit back and eat humble pie. Today  was just such a day. The  short saga of my new camera hit new highs today. After breakfast I  thought I would have one last go at getting it to  function. Up to that point. It  would start up  intermittently and not from the on off switch but from the review button Strange. On pressing to take a picture it would instantly shut down. However many times I  switched it on it only  went into menu mode. It was impossible to  get an image on the screen So  no pictures. The list of problems was growing. But with a coffee in one hand and this pile of S..t in the other I turned it on. Up pops the menu. I work through it  clicking this and that  in settings. Just as I have for 2 days and 2 sets of batteries and half another set..But nothing was working. OK thats it. I sent a strong final message asking for a full refund because item was not fit for purpose.

After  walking Louis and doing my  daily bits. I sat down and decided that OK it was going back in its packaging ready for the post. I idly switched it on and once more worked my way through the damn memory settings. When Next thing as my mind was elsewhere suddenly i had  a picture on the screen. It was an image at last I had something. Wow if I press the shutter will it just shut down again. Click Oh no it had taken a picture. Several clicks more pictures. Eureka its only Bl..dy working. I  dashed into the garden clicking at anything . back in doors I  nervously pressed the preview and yes I had pictures. Next I tried walking round with it in video mode. OK  I now had video. All I can say is I have no idea what I did different. But after several times turning it on and off ,even removing  batteries. It was still working.

NOW COMES the HUMBLE PIE bit.I continued playing with it clicking through another set of batteries. Now it was time to message  seller and tell him that it was now working and I didnt want a refund now. I groveled a bit  .

Ive played with it on and off now all day. To be honest I am afraid to change any settings in case I mess up. We are away  at weekend so as long as it dont go T..s up it will get a good work out. If it does, then I will bite the bullet and get a new one ,from a shop and not ebay.

Leave a Reply

